What’s an RSA?

Dreaming of a career in the exciting world of hospitality?

Then understanding and obtaining an RSA certificate is your first step!

This essential accreditation equips you with the knowledge and skills to serve alcohol responsibly, ensuring a safe and enjoyable experience for everyone.

What is an RSA?

RSA stands for Responsible Service of Alcohol.

It’s a nationally recognised qualification demonstrating your ability to:

  • Identify intoxicated patrons and refuse service when necessary.
  • Understand legal obligations related to alcohol service.
  • Handle challenging situations calmly and professionally.

Is it Mandatory?


In most Australian states and territories, an RSA certificate is required for any role involving alcohol service or sales, including restaurants, bars, clubs, hotels, and bottle shops.

Getting Your RSA:

Convenient and flexible options:

  • Online courses: Complete the training at your own pace, anytime, anywhere.
  • In-person courses: Traditional classroom setting for a more structured experience.

Choose a Registered Training Organisation (RTO) recognised by your state’s liquor licensing authority.

Benefits of Online RSA:

  • Flexibility: Learn around your schedule, pausing and resuming as needed.
  • Accessibility: Study on your phone, tablet, or computer, with progress automatically saved.
  • Online Support: Get help from qualified professionals, fast.
  • Instant Certification: Receive your PDF certificate upon completion.

RSA Certificate Validity Duration

The duration of RSA certificate validity and the requirement for renewal vary significantly across different states and territories:

  • Queensland: Indefinite validity of the Statement of Attainment in Provide Responsible Service of Alcohol.
  • Western Australia: No expiration for the RSA Statement of Attainment.
  • South Australia: No set expiry date currently.
  • Northern Territory: Renewal required every three years.
  • New South Wales: Valid for five years, necessitating refresher training for renewal.
  • Victoria: Requires renewal via a refresher course every three years.
  • Tasmania: Permanent validity of the RSA Statement of Attainment.
  • Australian Capital Territory: Mandatory refresher course every three years for continued validity.

Renewals and Refresher Courses:

Many states require periodic renewals or refresher courses to maintain your RSA certification.

Kickstart Your Hospitality Journey:

An RSA certificate is more than just a legal requirement; it’s a valuable asset for your career. It:

  • Enhances your resume and makes you a preferred candidate.
  • Demonstrates your commitment to responsible service.
  • Ensures a safer and more enjoyable environment for everyone.

Ready to take the first step?

Enrol in an RSA course today and unlock the doors to a fulfilling career in hospitality!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *